University of Sussex

File(s) not publicly available

Light Cuts Through Dark Skies

posted on 2023-06-07, 21:23 authored by Ed HughesEd Hughes
In 2001 I was commissioned by the Bath International Music Festival to create a new accompaniment to Joris Ivens’s 1929 silent film of Amsterdam, Regen (Rain). The music was performed by the UK ensemble the New Music Players in a concert which also included Eisler’s Vierzehn Arten den Regen zu beschreiben. The two scores were performed to two successive screenings of the film. My own composition uses repeating patterns and polyphonic techniques. It aims to give a fresh musical reading of the intricate visual patterns and subtle shifts in light and perspectives offered by the film. Depending on the speed of performance, and projection speed, short pauses can occur between the sections in the music, opening up silence as a productive tension in the counterpoint between music and moving images. A short article on my composition process ('New technologies and old rites') can be found in Robynn Stilwell & Phil Powrie (ed.s) ‘Composing for the Screen in Germany and the USSR’ (Indiana University Press, 2008), pp 93-105.


Publication status

  • Published


University of York Music Press

Department affiliated with

  • Music Publications


Commissioned by Bath International Music Festival. First performance 1 June 2001. An accompaniment to 'REGEN', a short film by Joris Ivens (1929). Intended to complement Hanns Eisler's scoring of the same film ('Vierzehn Arten den Regen zu beschreiben'). Both scores are for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and piano. ISMN M 57020 665 0

Full text available

  • No

Peer reviewed?

  • No

Legacy Posted Date


Usage metrics

    University of Sussex (Publications)


    No categories selected