University of Sussex

File(s) not publicly available

Tranquil Abiding

posted on 2023-06-08, 08:12 authored by Jonathan Harvey
"Tranquil Abiding" (1999 -- 14'46) is haunting and beautiful, based on a simple two-chord oscillation, like breathing in and out, as in meditation. Complexity gradually builds, and the piece culminates with a sense of peace and clarity. Tranquil Abiding is a Buddhist term for a state of single-pointed concentration. This piece is a 14-minute movement based throughout on a single, slow breathing rhythm. The rhythm consists of an “inhalation” on an upper note followed by an “exhalation” on a lower one. There are melodic fragments above it: one using only one pitch, another three pitches, another five pitches, another eight pitches and a fifth fifteen pitches. It is scored for small orchestra and was commissioned jointly by Riverside Symphony and Bournemouth Orchestras as the result, respectively, of a Koussevitsky award and funds provided by the Arts Council of England.'


Publication status

  • Published


London: Faber

Department affiliated with

  • Music Publications


ISBN: 0-571-52051-0 14 mins. full orchestra. Commissioned by the Riverside Symphony and Bournemouth Orchestras.

Full text available

  • No

Peer reviewed?

  • No

Legacy Posted Date


Usage metrics

    University of Sussex (Publications)


    No categories selected