University of Sussex
WHENFLAME_2JUL13.pdf (649.45 kB)

When the flame dies

Download (649.45 kB)
posted on 2023-06-07, 22:46 authored by Ed HughesEd Hughes, R Morris
When the flame dies Composer - Ed Hughes Librettist - Roger Morris Video - Will Reynolds & Poppy Burton-Morgan With the voices of Andrew McIntosh (baritone); Lucy Williams (mezzo); Peter Kirk (tenor); Emily Phillips (soprano); Ben Williamson (counter-tenor); also video artist Loren O'Dair. Ensemble - The New Music Players Advisers: Tim Hopkins and David Chandler (Professor of Photography, University of Plymouth). Duration: 70 minutes The unnamed Poet, protagonist of the drama, dreams of the Underworld where he meets the characters of his past and his imagination. He must choose between love and creativity. This new opera is being worked on during Autumn 2011 and Spring 2012 towards a full scoring for a cast of five singers and ensemble (The New Music Players) with live electronics. A public presentation is planned for 2013. The project will explore the use of specially created video, combining newly conceived material with archive stills and film footage, in order to devise new textures in the concert performance of opera, and to find fresh ways of contextualising works with historical and mythical resonances in performance.


Publication status

  • Published


University of York Music Press

Department affiliated with

  • Music Publications

Full text available

  • Yes

Peer reviewed?

  • No

Legacy Posted Date


Usage metrics

    University of Sussex (Publications)


    No categories selected